An 18-member Board of Directors to recover cricket

The Sri Lanka Cricket Board is to be governed by an 18-member board of directors to address and resolve the ongoing crises in Sri Lanka’s popular sport of cricket. The proposed changes were outlined in a report drafted by a committee headed by Justice KT Chithrasiri. On Tuesday, President’s Secretary Saman Ekanayake officially handed over to Minister of Foreign Affairs Mr. Ali Sabri, Chairman of the Cabinet Sub-Committee.

The new constitution was drafted by President Ranil Wickremesinghe, who believes that only an interim committee is not enough to solve the complex problems in Sri Lankan cricket.

However, in view of the current situation, President Wickremesinghe has decided to expedite the process and submit the proposed draft constitution to the Cabinet Sub-Committee for the attention of the Parliament.

Under the proposed changes in the new draft, an 18-member Board of Directors will govern the Sri Lanka Cricket Board. Each director serves a four-year term and is empowered to make policy decisions. Implementation of these decisions will be the responsibility of a Director General appointed by the Board of Directors.

8 of the 18 directors will be appointed and the recommendation for their appointment will be made by an expert committee consisting of six members. The committee includes representatives from the National Sports Council, Institute of Chartered Accountants of Sri Lanka, Bar Association of Sri Lanka, Sri Lanka Chamber of Commerce, Institute of Directors of Sri Lanka and Chartered Institute of Management Accountants.

The remaining 10 board members are selected through a formal election process. Five directors representing the cricket clubs, one representing the Players’ Association, one representing the Schools Cricket Association, one representing the Women’s Cricket Association, one representing the Umpires’ Association and one representing the Coaches’ Association will appear in this process.

The proposed constitution proposes to set up 12 committees dedicated to various aspects of cricket. These committees include the Cricket Committee, Audit Committee, Related Party Transactions Committee, Nomination Committee, Selection Committee, Tournament Committee, Facility Development Committee, Rules and Regulations, Arbitration and Disciplinary Committee, Investment Committee, Anti-Doping and Anti-Corruption Committee, and Remuneration. Committee.

The proposed new constitution will be tabled and discussed by the ruling party in the parliamentary debate tomorrow. If approved, these changes are expected to bring a fresh start to Sri Lanka cricket, ensure transparent governance, effective decision-making and improved administration of the game.

මෙවැනි පුවත් එසැනින් දැනගන්න 👇
අපගේ WhatsApp Channel එකට එකතුවෙන්න!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *